The National Hockey League (NHL) season has come to a close which officially marks Stanley Cup Playoff season. The NHL Playoffs start on May 2 where eight teams from each conference will qualify based on their regular season points total. Winners of the Stanley Cup are determined through an elimination tournament consisting of four rounds through best of seven series.

Keep up with all the action with the NHL Playoffs schedule, scores and information on how to watch below.


How to Watch NHL Games

REGIONAL SPORTS LINEUP (only available in some areas)                     

TNT – 245

ESPN – 206

ABC –7                              

NHL Network – Ch. 215

Package add on: NHL Center Ice

Discover even more NHL coverage and keep your fandom on ice.

NHL Playoffs Schedule

Watch as all the teams take to the ice during the Stanley Cup playoffs. Find the full NHL playoffs schedule below and on the website.


Latest NHL Tweets


NHL Top Questions

When do NHL Playoffs start?

The NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs start on May 2, 2022.

Who’s in the NHL playoffs?

We’ll know which NHL teams made it to the playoff this weekend.

How many teams make the NHL Playoffs?

Eight teams from each conference (Eastern and Western) will qualify for the playoffs.

How many games in playoffs NHL?

The NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs’ format consists of four rounds of best-of-seven series.

What channel is NHL Playoffs on?

Wondering where to watch the NHL Playoffs? The games will be aired on various channels including regional networks, TNT, ESPN, ABC, and the NHL Network. Get as many games as possible with NHL Center Ice.          

How many NHL teams are there?

There are 32 teams split into divisions within the Eastern and Western Conference.


Metropolitan Division
Atlantic Division
Carolina Hurricanes
Boston Bruins
Columbus Blue Jackets
Buffalo Sabres
New Jersey Devils
Detroit Red Wings
New York Islanders
Florida Panthers
New York Rangers
Montréal Canadiens
Philadelphia Flyers
Ottawa Senators
Pittsburgh Penguins
Tampa Bay Lightning
Washington Capitals
Toronto Maple Leaf


Central Division
Pacific Division
Arizona Coyotes
Anaheim Ducks
Chicago Blackhawks
Calgary Flames
Colorado Avalanche
Edmonton Oilers
Dallas Stars
Los Angeles Kings
Minnesota Wild
San Jose Sharks
Nashville Predators
Seattle Kraken
St. Louis Blues
Vancouver Canucks
Winnipeg Jets
Vegas Golden Knights

Who won the Stanley Cup in 2021?

The Tampa Bay Lightning won the Stanley Cup in 2021.

The content featured on is editorial content brought to you by DIRECTV. While some of the programming discussed may now or in the future be available affiliates distribution services, the companies and persons discussed and depicted, and the authors and publishers of licensed content, are not necessarily associated with and do not necessarily endorse DIRECTV. When you click on ads on this site you may be taken to DIRECTV marketing pages that display advertising content. Content sponsored or co-created by programmers is identified as "Sponsored Content" or "Promoted Content."